Ride & Stride Awards Ceremony – March 4th 2017

Celebrating a successful day

On Saturday (4th March) we held our annual Ride & Stride Awards ceremony at St Anne’s Church in Lewes.

Attended by the Lord Lieutenant of East Sussex, Bishop Martin and other distinguished guests it was a chance to celebrate the outstanding achievements of those taking part and to reflect on an eventful, if slightly wet, Ride & Stride 2016.

Rain didn’t stop play

Despite the appalling weather on the day, about 300 adults and children took part at 130 churches across Sussex, managing to raise almost £50,000. This is an excellent effort by all those who took part and also from all the organisers and volunteers who work so hard behind the scenes to make the Ride & Stride successful.

50% of the amount raised goes to the Trust, from which the grants are made to repair and restore historic places of worship, while the other 50% goes back to the competitor’s local church.


Below are the 2016 winners and runners up, some of whom are pictured above collecting their trophies and certificates.  Congratulations and thank you to all of them, and everyone who took part.

Cycling: Individual Trophy

Robert Symmons from St Mary’s, Funtington was the winner of the individual trophy with 144 stars. The runner up was Luke Doyle from St Bartholomew, Rogate with 122 stars.

Cycling: Individual Under 16’s Trophy

The winner of the under 16 cyclist’s trophy was Joseph Satchwell from St Luke’s, Stone Cross, with 51 stars, and the joint runners up were Callum Budd and Frazer Budd from St Peter & St Mary, Fishbourne with 48 stars.

Walkers: Individual Trophy

David Twinley from St Nicholas, Arundel, won the individual walkers trophy with 48 stars, and the runner up, just behind with 47 stars, was James Kelly from Holy Trinity, Lower Beeding

Walkers: Team Trophy

The “Willingdon Walkers” from St Mary the Virgin, Willingdon won the team walkers trophy with 44 stars.  They are:-

Sue Foster, Kate Agnew, Diana Service, Vicky Peattie, Mick Philips, Janet Ash, and Kay Caffyn

The runners up were “Jimmy’s Team” from St James, Birdham with 35 stars. They are:-

Gill Clear, Sallie Drew, Rhona Laming and Josie Woodcock

Walkers: Individual Under 16’s Trophy

The joint winners of the under 16’s walkers trophy again were  Brooke, and Kylton Harman from St Peter the Hydneye, Eastbourne with 34 stars. Millie Creighton-Moore from St Mary’s, Aldingbourne was the runner up with 5 stars

Walkers: Team Trophy

The Ignite Youth Group St Mary Magdalene, Midhurst won the Under 16’s walkers trophy with 12 stars

They are Abigail Robinson, Emily Bosley, Erin Haigh, Joshua Slade, Lila McDowell, and Cristina Pons

Special Award Trophy

The special award trophy goes to Pat Weeks from St Margaret the Queen, Buxted who raised a record £1235 which is absolutely amazing   The runner up was Pamela Lade from St John the Evangelist, Eastbourne who raised an also amazing £1126.

Thank you…

Thank you to Canon Richard Moatt for welcoming the Sussex Historic Churches Trust to St Anne’s and letting us use the lovely church for the presentation of the awards.